Skip To Main Content

Desktop Search Container

Our Schools

Language

Sticky Right Buttons

Landing Nav

Breadcrumb

Junior High School Highly Capable Programs

PAGE Program (Grades 7-8) Overview

The Puyallup School District is committed to nurturing the abilities of highly capable students.  The PAGE Program is offered for highly capable seventh and eighth grade students who have been identified by the multidisciplinary selection committee.  The PAGE Program includes courses with a high level of rigor, depth, breadth, and acceleration within a cohort setting.  6th grade applicants may be identified for one or more of the following core subjects:  English, Social Studies, Mathematics and Science. 7th grade applicants may be identified for English and/or Social Studies.

Learners should plan to participate in a rigorous curriculum and their work should exceed grade level content standards. Successful students exhibit a strong work ethic and a high level of task completion. 

Highly Capable Students

Highly capable students are students who perform or show potential for performing at significantly advanced academic levels when compared with others of their age, experiences, or environments.  Outstanding abilities are seen within students' general intellectual aptitudes, specific academic abilities, and/or creative productivities within a specific domain. These students are present not only in the general populace but are present within all protected classes.

Students who are highly capable may possess, but are not limited to, these learning characteristics:

  1. Capacity to learn with unusual depth of understanding, to retain what has been learned, and to transfer learning to new situations;
  2. Capacity and willingness to deal with increasing levels of abstraction and complexity earlier than their chronological peers;
  3. Creative ability to make unusual connections among ideas and concepts;
  4. Ability to learn quickly in their area(s) of intellectual strength; and
  5. Capacity for intense concentration and/or focus.

More PAGE Information

Calendar

Important Dates and Timelines

  • November 15, 2023: Application deadline for invited candidates
  • November 20 – December 8, 2023: PAGE Testing Window
  • Early January 2024: Placement letters mailed
  • September 2024: PAGE placement begins
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, Jun 30
Mon, Jul 1
Tue, Jul 2
Wed, Jul 3
Thu, Jul 4
Fri, Jul 5
Sat, Jul 6
Sun, Jul 7
Mon, Jul 8
Tue, Jul 9
Wed, Jul 10
Thu, Jul 11
Fri, Jul 12
Sat, Jul 13
Sun, Jul 14
Mon, Jul 15
Tue, Jul 16
Wed, Jul 17
Thu, Jul 18
Fri, Jul 19
Sat, Jul 20
Sun, Jul 21
Mon, Jul 22
Tue, Jul 23
Wed, Jul 24
Thu, Jul 25
Fri, Jul 26
Sat, Jul 27
Sun, Jul 28
Mon, Jul 29
Tue, Jul 30
Wed, Jul 31
Thu, Aug 1
Fri, Aug 2
Sat, Aug 3

2023-24 Highly Capable Application

The application will take approximately 6 minutes to complete.

Please click on the button below and complete if you would like your student to be considered for Highly Capable Program services. 

Highly Capable Application